My Brief Hands-on with X-T1(plus Sample photos)

Fujifilm X-T1

I was able to have a very brief hands-on (10-15 mins) with a Fujifilm X-T1 during Photoworld Asia 2014 in Glorietta Mall, Metro Manila. So all of the images you see from this post are from the X-T1, most likely a pre-production unit since according to the Fujifilm guys, X-T1’s will reach our shore end of February or early March. Quite a few (20ish if I remember correctly) already signed up to reserve a unit that’s how good and enticing it is – if money/price weren’t a part of the equation I would have gladly placed my name, number and email address.

In terms of handling it was good and it feels solid. Balance together with the Fujinon XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 R LM OIS was perfect. Buttons are well-placed and thought out for me, though some are a wee bit too small. It took quite awhile for me to get used to changing the shutter speed coming from using EOS 7D and Nikon D7000. But it’s great to have WYSIWYG viewfinders, something Canon users are familiar with when using their Live View.

Fujifilm X-T1

Yes these pictures are boring to say the least, but it simple showcases how good the camera is on the shadows as well as the highlights, I think this sensor has better dynamic range than other APS-C cameras(needs verification to shoot on same settings). I have shot them in RAF + Jpeg Fine, but I don’t have a raw processor yet. And I wasn’t able to tweak some of the settings for my liking. But I was impressed with the files. I was impressed that Fujifilm Philippines allowed people to try out the cameras with their SD cards. Other manufacturers aren’t as welcoming here in Philippines.

Fujifilm X-T1

The images are a bit red and I was checking the exif it was adjusted to lean towards the reds. In terms of the focusing, X-T1 was fast, even on low light/shaded areas. I’m hoping to get a RAW converter for this one so that I can see how great the files are. Pixel peeping on these JPEGs reveal artifacts, but I guess these are products of too much sharpening (viewing the EXIF it’s set on High).

Fujifilm X-T1

The EVF experience with the X-T1 is very good. It’s bright and it’s huge. Information display is better compared to the X-E1/X-E2. I have tried the vertical/portrait orientation shooting – nifty feature. I was able to try the focus peaking for manual focus (it’s now colored red and customizable versus the white of the other X cameras).

Anyway its a nice camera to have, I only have good things to say except for the fact that it’s still quite expensive. My heart tells me X-T1 (PhP 89,000+ kit), but my wallet is screaming X-E1 (they’re a bargain now at half the price of the X-T1 together with the 18-55 or 35mm here in the philippines or in Amazon – Fujifilm X-E1 16.3 MP Compact System Digital Camera with 2.8-Inch LCD and 18-55mm Lens (Black)) or an X-E2.

But right now I think I need to unload my other camera, FAST!!!

For other photos of this set. Click on the links below. Feel free to leave comments, share or re-blog this page!

Fujifilm X-T1Fujifilm X-T1Fujifilm X-T1Fujifilm X-T1Fujifilm X-T1Fujifilm X-T1
Fujifilm X-T1

tumblr-xt1, a Slide Show of this set on Flickr.

One thought on “My Brief Hands-on with X-T1(plus Sample photos)

  1. Pingback: X-T1: “it’s hard not to fall in love with it” (pocket-lint), “believe the [EVF] marketing hype” (wilzworkz) and more! | Fuji Rumors

Leave a Reply

